Dark Star Safari – Jan Bang, Eivind Aarset, Erik Honoré, Samuel Rohrer

Dark_Star_Safari2© Camille BlakeJan Bang – vocals, live sampling, samples,
ac. piano, dictaphone
Erik Honoré – synthesizer, samples, synth bass,
voice, lyrics
Eivind Aarset – guitar, electronics, bass
Samuel Rohrer – drums, percussion, electronics, synths

Dark Star Safari, a newly formed group featuring Samuel Rohrer, Jan Bang, Erik Honoré and Eivind Aarset, present its eponymous recording debut, an evocative song-driven album. These songs conjure shadows of memory, clouds of dreaming and silhouettes of foreboding through the album’s layered, many-textured fabrics and Jan Bang’s silken delivery of Erik Honoré’s acute lyrics. Dark Star Safari is the work of four kindred spirits, their open modus operandi, and a remarkably interconnected creative nerve system. Key to their collaboration is an organic freedom that enables the music “to fill itself in”, to be self-actualizing via the musicians as medium. The music of the 10 songs resulted from a two-stage process: an initial phase of free flowing open improvisation, and a subsequent exploratory phase where hidden potentials were discovered and nurtured.
Born out of the spirit of open improvisation and the improvisational practice of the immediate live-remix, Dark Star Safari transcends both of these creative processes in a pursuit of fresh approaches to songwriting. Their music is now ready to meet the hearts, minds and bodies of live audiences, to evolve even further through that interaction.

Album Release on Mai 10 2019 on Arjunamusic Records






Wolfert Brederode piano/electronics
Raphael Vanoli guit/electronics
Samuel Rohrer drums/synths

- More info coming soon